oilz

I mentioned essential oils in a post about natural cleaning a while back, and I feel that it is only right that I share more about it. I’ve been hesitant to publicly acknowledge my use of essential oils here on the internets. It feels like a confession of some sort, plunging me further into the category of “hippie,” cementing my position in the world of natural living. What will they think of me? But I don’t care anymore. I’m in love, I’m in love, and I don’t care who knows it! Let’s be honest though…are you all that surprised? My husband recently asked if I was going to use a hoof to make jello. I didn’t, but he thought it was a possibility. Somehow, using essential oils seems less extreme than finding a hoof just to make dessert. Seriously though, I had a few uses in mind when I bought the oils, but I have been amazed by how many ways I’ve been able to use them already. To name a few…

  • help my children sleep better – for real, y’all
  • neutralize the incredible aromas of dead mouse and toddler vomit in a van
  • boost our immune systems
  • support healthy baby skin
  • ease some discomfort I’ve had in my hands for months
  • help with my husband’s seasonal sniffles
  • help me calm down when I’m having the mother-crazies
  • soothe my mom’s back

I’m no medical professional, and I can only tell you how these have helped our family in the span of just two months. But I’m a believer. My main (early) Christmas present from Dave was a starter kit from a company called Young Living. It’s a reputable company with quality products. I didn’t know this before, but some companies add fillers to their oils so you’re not getting pure oils. Boo! Who needs fillers?

In any case, I think essential oils are pretty amazing. Give ’em a try – you never know how they might change your life. As St. Augustine said, “In essentials, unity; in non-essentials, liberty; in all things, charity.” Unity! Essential oils bring unity! Right?

P.S. If you’re actually interested in trying something, let me know and I’ll try to help you out. I don’t know much yet, but I have an awesome reference book and an amazing discount!

Leave a Reply

