ode to rhubarb

About a month ago I mentioned rhubarb. I wanted to shout from the rooftops about rhubarb that day, but then I realized rhubarb season was over and crawled into a hole to weep.
I think I’ve had strawberry rhubarb pie a time or two, but I was never too impressed with it. I had certainly never cooked with it. I saw it a few times at the farmer’s market this summer but didn’t want to bother (I’m so ashamed.). As the season drew to a close I thought I might as well try all the things I hadn’t yet, so I bought a couple bunches. It was, hands down, one of the wisest culinary decisions I’ve made. I wanted to make a pie, but I didn’t have any strawberries. What I did have was plums, and boy am I glad. I did a quick search on the internets and made the first recipe that popped up. I don’t know who Nick is, but he knows how to make pie. This thing was KILLER! Seriously. It was the best pie I’ve ever eaten. Dave and I stood in the kitchen, scarfing it down like ravenous animals. The only disappointment was the end of rhubarb season. I searched high and low for some more, but to no avail. I will be thinking about that pie until next summer, and when rhubarb comes back into my life I will make a pie every week. Do yourself a favor and pin/save/print this recipe asap.
*I used my go-to crust recipe from A Little Bit of Spain in Iowa.
*I took a picture, but it wasn’t any good. You should just click the link and look at Nick’s pictures.

 

Some other delicious recipes of late:
cranberry orange breakfast buns
rosemary peasant bread
mustardy kale salad with roasted sweet potato and apple

Leave a Reply

