perfect granola

I began adapting Alton Brown’s recipe over a year ago, and I think I might have perfected it! I mean, he’s an okay cook I guess, but anything can be improved, right? Dave and I agree that this granola is the perfect combo of sweet and salty, crunchy and chewy, fruity and nutty. Plus, it doesn’t have any of the preservatives or unnecessary ingredients that a lot of store brought granolas.

 

    Mix in a big bowl:

  • 3 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup sweetened shaved coconut
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons brown sugar

 

    Warm in a saucepan:

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 tablespoons real maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • capful (?) pure vanilla extract

 

Pour the liquid mixture over the dry mixture, and stir it up so that everything’s gooey. Spread it out on two small cookie sheets or a big jelly roll pan. Bake at 250* for 1 hour 15 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes. You really should stir it every 15 minutes. When it’s finished, stir it one more time and leave to cool completely. It will harden into some nice crunchy clumps. Add 1 cup of dried blueberries, and store it in an airtight container. 

Now, you can really do whatever you want with this. I usually just use whatever nuts, seeds, and fruit I have on hand, but this combo is my favorite. Sunflower seeds, pecans, walnuts, cranberries, crystalized ginger, whatever. Go crazy! You can also experiment with the proportion of syrup to honey, just staying within the 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons amount. I used to use regular old shredded coconut, but I finally found shaved coconut at Dekalb Farmer’s Market. It’s amazing! But either one will work.

I believe this granola is best enjoyed with Stonyfield whole fat yogurt or unsweetened almond milk.

What do you put your granola on? Do you wear socks with sandals?

One thought on “perfect granola

Leave a Reply

