feeling autumnal

It’s that time of year again when I vow to never forget that autumn is my favorite season. Of course, come May, the Smeagol in me will insist that, no really, spring is the best. It’s an ongoing debate. In any case, my pumpkin pureeing frenzy has begun. It just tastes so much better when you roast and puree the pumpkin yourself. I like to stock the freezer for the year. Fortunately, my produce guy Jim has a whole shed full of pumpkins…and cushaw squash and permelons. We tried the cushaw last year, and it made an awesome pie. But according to Jim, the best thing for pie is the permelon. It’s healthy to boot! And I quote, “Yeah, some hippy-lookin’ guy came up here the other day and flipped out when he saw those permelons! They’re full of anti-oxidants or something.” Great! Sign me up! That’s it there, the long peachy colored one. For now, it’s part of my decorative autumn display (aka pile of squash, pumpkins, and gourds). Crazytown picked out the tiny ones.

Image

But yeah, this autumnal weather just gets in my bones. I take pictures, knowing that they will never fully capture the sights, sounds, and smells of autumn, especially here in West Virginia where it’s so wild and wonderful. (Note: Whenever my grandfather mentions West Virginia he calls it “W Vahhh.”) I love the silence of autumn. The mowers are quiet, the fans are off, the cicadas have hushed. I feel calm.

IMG_2626 IMG_2625 IMG_2624 IMG_2621

Tomorrow I’ll be using some of my freshly pureed pumpkin to make pumpkin cream puffs. Booyah! I’ll let you know how it goes. They will probably be delicious.

One thought on “feeling autumnal

  1. Pingback: a trip to the garden (and a cream puff update) | The Family McKee

Leave a Reply

